Hudd_Title

This web site and all contents

 © HHDUGC 2016

Questions on the Rules of Golf - Page 2

Page 1 Page 3

You might be interested in these questions on the rules of Golf

if you know all the answers you're a star!

(c) GolfSwingSecretsRevealed.com

QUESTION 1:

During a competitive round, Paul arrives for his tee-time five minutes late, within the time limit allowed by the local rules committee to prevent disqualification, but incurring loss of the first hole. His friend and fellow competitor in the match, Chip, quietly tells Paul he will not assess any penalty, as the match only affects those two players. Is there anything wrong with this?

ANSWER

QUESTION 2:

While playing the 7th hole, Dave hits his drive onto the 8th green. As he approaches the green, he finds that his ball is lying atop the fringe, with a portion of the ball overhanging onto the green. The ball was located in an area that would cause his stance to be taken on the green, as well. As Dave begins to mark and lift his ball, he tells a fellow competitor that he is entitled to a free drop because his ball is lying on a wrong green. What should the ruling be in this case?

ANSWER

QUESTION 3:

As a player is addressing the ball on the teeing ground, and is "waggling" his driver, he inadvertently knocks the ball off the tee with the club. Does the stroke count and must he play the ball as it lies? Has he incurred a penalty. Or may he re-tee the ball without counting a stroke or receiving a penalty?

ANSWER

QUESTION 4:

While searching for a ball in some high weeds, a player sees what ultimately proves to be his ball. In determining whether it is his ball he pushes the weeds away. As he does so, the ball drops several inches from it's resting position. Has a rules infraction occurred?

ANSWER

QUESTION 5:

During a round, a player's ball comes to rest near a storm shelter on the course. The shelter interferes with his stance and is clearly an immovable obstruction. What are his options?

ANSWER

QUESTION 6:

At age 75, Jim appeared to have hit his first hole in one. His ball hit the green, bounced a few times and rolled to a quick stop, apparently against the flagstick. When he arrived at the green, sure enough, there was the ball resting against the flagstick, inside the circumference of the hole. He excitedly ran to the hole and grabbed his ball, triumphantly holding it in the air. Unfortunately, Jim made a serious mistake. What was it?

ANSWER

QUESTION 7:

During the same round, Jim makes a nice approach shot and his ball settles a few inches from the hole. Another player in his foursome, Earl, makes an equally nice shot, but it strikes Jim's ball and deflects it into the hole. What is the ruling on Jim's ball?

ANSWER

QUESTION 8:

On the putting green, a player marked his ball one putter head-length to the left, in order that his mark would not interfere with a fellow
competitor. When he replaced his ball, he placed it one putter length to the left of the mark and began to address the ball. Has a rules infraction taken place?

ANSWER

QUESTION 9:

On the teeing ground, while Rick is preparing to hit his shot, Tom walks behind him and begins to tee his own ball, since he is next to play. Rick is clearly distracted and backs away from his ball to regain his composure. Has a rules infraction taken place?

ANSWER

QUESTION 10:

While playing the 17th at St.Andrews, Alistair hits his approach shot into the deep greenside bunker. After walking to the bunker he finds that his ball is resting against the stacked turf nearest the green. He clearly has no shot at the green. While making his decision of how to proceed, he nervously and repeatedly taps his wedge against the stacked turf. Has he violated the rules?

ANSWER

QUESTION 11:

During a competitive match, Player A asked Player B how many strokes he took on the previous hole. Player B declined to reveal to Player A his score on the hole. Was Player A entitled to know how many strokes Player B had taken?

ANSWER

QUESTION 12:

While playing in a rain soaked father-daughter tournament, John held an umbrella over his eight year-old daughter's head while she lined-up a putt on the 10th green. Their opponents believed that action to be an infraction, but did not report it to the rules committee or to John or his daughter until after they had begun play of the next hole. What is the ruling?

ANSWER

QUESTION 13:

Through eight holes of a stroke play competition, Tom has failed to smooth out his footprints and holes in bunkers, scraped his spikes across the greens and failed to repair the scrapes, failed to repair divots, refused to play a provisional ball when a tee shot could clearly have been lost or even out of bounds, and teed his ball while another player had addressed his ball in preparation to make a stroke..Is Tom subject to any penalties or rulings?

ANSWER

QUESTION 14:

Michelle fancies herself a rules expert. While waiting to play on the 4th tee of a round, she notices Susanne, one of her playing partners, chipping a ball onto the putting green of the last hole they played. Michelle proceeds to tell Susanne that she has just incurred a two-stroke penalty under Rule 7-2, due to her practice shots. Is she correct?

ANSWER

QUESTION 15:

Jim and Tom are on the 12th tee. While Tom is preparing to make his tee shot, he uses his driver to tap down an uneven surface behind
where his ball is teed, which would improve his take away. Jim tells him that he has incurred a penalty. Is Jim correct?

ANSWER

QUESTION 16:

A golfer's shot came to rest inside a bunker and just behind a partially sand-covered golf glove dropped by a previous player of the hole. Is the golfer allowed to remove the glove without penalty since it will hinder his shot?

ANSWER

QUESTION 17:

Is a penalty incurred when a player, after marking his ball on the green, inadvertently places another ball on the mark and subsequently putts that ball?

ANSWER

QUESTION 18:

Fuzzy struck his 25-foot putt on the 15th hole and watched it roll to the lip of the cup without falling inside. As most of the ball appeared to be overhanging the lip, he surmised that it must be about to fall in. After a few seconds, he slowly strolled toward the hole and, once he arrived there, waited a few more seconds before the putt eventually fell into the hole for a birdie. Did Fuzzy do anything in violation of the rules?

ANSWER

QUESTION 19:

Bill has addressed his ball just off the 16th green and is about to chip. At that moment, Ted walks up and attends the flag. After making his stroke, the ball hits the flagstick being held by Ted. What should be the ruling in this case?

ANSWER

QUESTION 20:

On the 7th hole, Bill's ball came to rest on a dirt cast obviously made by a mole. He was entitled to free relief from the mound, as a cast or runway made by a burrowing animal is considered an abnormal ground condition.
On the 17th hole, his ball came to rest in the rough and inside a hole which was most likely dug by a dog, cat or some other animal of the approximate size. What is the ruling in that instance?

ANSWER

QUESTION 21:

After fully addressing the ball on the putting green, John makes an inadvertent strike of the ball. It moves forward only slightly and, having been resting in a ball-mark, rolls back to it's original position. Does the inadvertent stroke count toward John's score?

ANSWER

QUESTION 22:

Tom, Jim, Rick and Bill are playing a hotly contested stroke play round. As Jim is leading him by three shots, while waiting for the green to clear, Tom picks up Jim's ball in the fairway to inspect it. How should Jim proceed after noticing what Tom had done?

ANSWER

QUESTION 23:

While playing an approach shot, a player makes his stroke and his ball comes to rest in the back of a golf course repair vehicle approximately 50 yards from the green. The driver does not stop. How must the golfer proceed?

ANSWER

QUESTION 24:

After making an attempt at placing a ball on a steep greenside hill, Charlie's ball will not stay on the spot. After trying a second time, it rolls to the bottom of the hill. Charlie, seeing no other way to proceed, believes he must play the ball as it lies. How should he proceed?

ANSWER

QUESTION 25:

The golfers in a foursome begin searching for one member's ball. As they begin their search, the group behind them arrives on the tee.
According to the etiquette rules in Section One of the Rules of Golf, what should the searching foursome do?

ANSWER

QUESTION 26:

As Susan struck her approach shot on the second hole of her round, she felt the club head of her six-iron twist. Upon examination, she found that the club head had come loose from the shaft. As an amateur club maker, she had some quick-drying epoxy in her golf bag and used it to quickly repair her club, which she used later in the round. After using the repaired club, had she committed a rules infraction?

ANSWER

ANSWER 1:

Rule 6-3 requires that a player must start at the time established or be disqualified. Local rules can modify the rule somewhat, as in this situation. However, if Chip and Paul proceed by not assessing the penalty to Paul, they would both be disqualified for violation of Rule 1-3, for agreeing to waive a rule.

BACK

ANSWER 2:

First, interference by a wrong putting green is defined in Rule 25-3(a) as when a ball is on the wrong putting green. Interference to a golfer's stance or the area of the intended swing is not considered interference under Rule 25-3. If a player's ball is lying on a wrong green, the ball must be dropped within one club length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole. In Dave's case, he has made one crucial mistake. According to the definition of "putting green," a ball is considered to be on the green when it touches any part of it. In this case, Dave's ball was "sitting atop the fringe," merely overhanging and not touching the green. Simply because his stance would be taken on the green, the ball must be played as it lies. As he has marked and lifted a ball in play, according to Rule 18 (Ball at Rest Moved, he incurs a penalty of one stroke.
That was a tough one!

BACK

ANSWER 3:

According to Rule 11-3, if a ball not in play falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed without penalty. So, the player simply should pick up the ball and replace it on the tee without penalty, as if it had never happened.

BACK

ANSWER 4:

In these circumstances when the player accidentally caused his ball to move during search outside of a hazard he incurred a penalty of one stroke and before making another stroke, the ball must be replaced as closely as possible to the spot and lie that it occupied prior to the movement. If another player had caused the ball to move while searching for it there would be no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

BACK

ANSWER 5:

Rule 24-2 stipulates that the player may take relief from an immovable obstruction by lifting and dropping the ball, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped, it must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.

BACK

ANSWER 6:
Rule 17-4 states that when the flagstick is in the hole and a player's ball when not holed rests against it, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick to allow the ball to fall into the hole, thus holing out. A ball is only holed when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole. Since Jim did not "hole out" he is penalised one stroke under Rule 20-1 for lifting his ball without marking its position. He must then replace the ball against the flagstick and carefully remove it so that the ball drops into the hole. He will then have scored a "hole in two"!

BACK

ANSWER 7:

According to the provisions of Rule 18-5, if a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the ball moved must be replaced as closely as possible to it's original spot. Jim's playing a great round, but he can't catch a break.

BACK

ANSWER 8:

The player is about to putt his ball from the wrong place. When he replaced his ball, he should have placed it to the right of the mark, which would have put the ball in the original location. He's about to play from the wrong spot. According to Rule 20-7, if a player makes a stroke from a wrong place he's in violation. In match play he loses the hole, in stroke play he would receive a two-stroke penalty. However, in this instance, an infraction has not yet taken place because the player has not made the stroke. You can give the story a happy ending, or a sad one. Whichever you choose.

BACK

ANSWER 9:

There has been no rules infraction; however, Section 1 of the Rules of Golf deals with matters of etiquette and on-course behaviour.
That section has a subsection that deals with having consideration for other players and making no disturbances or distraction. Clearly stated in that subsection is that a player should not tee his ball until his turn to play. Although Tom has committed a breach of etiquette, he has violated no rules.

BACK

ANSWER 10:

According to the definition of a "bunker," grass-covered ground, including stacked turf, is not considered part of the bunker. Alistair has not violated Rule 13-4 because, by definition, he has not touched the ground in the bunker.

BACK

ANSWER 11:

Rule 9-2 states that an opponent in a match play event is entitled to know the number of strokes taken by the other player during the play of a hole and after. B incurs the general penalty of loss of hole (Rule 2-6) for failing to act in accordance with Rule 9-2a.

BACK

ANSWER 12:

First, the opponents believed they had witnessed a violation of Rule 14-2, which prohibits a player from accepting protection from the elements when making a stroke; however, the girl was not, she was only lining-up a putt. Also, had there been a infraction, according to Rule 2-5 the opponents have to make a claim seeking a ruling on the facts of the doubt or dispute before commencing play of the next hole. Since they had started playing the next hole, they would have had no claim.

BACK

ANSWER 13:

Though he is not in direct violation of any rules, he has established a pattern of neglect, possibly rising to the level of serious breaches of etiquette and course behaviour as described in the Rules of Golf. As such, under Rule 33-7, the local Rules Committee can disqualify him if they find he is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette.

BACK

ANSWER 14:

Rule 7-2 states that a player must not make a practice stroke during play of a hole (she's right so far). Between the play of two holes a player must not make a practice stroke (she's still right), except that she may practice putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the last hole played, any practice green, or the next teeing ground. Michelle has proven herself a rules novice rather than expert. Susanne was securely within the rules.

BACK

ANSWER 15:

Tom should respond by stating that he has not violated the rules because, according to Rule 13-2, eliminating surface irregularities that may improve stance or swing on the teeing ground is allowed.

BACK

ANSWER 16:

A golf glove is artificial and therefore falls within the definition of an obstruction (i.e. not a loose impediment). All movable obstructions can be removed, without penalty, anywhere on the course. If the ball moves during the removal of the obstruction it must be replaced and there is no penalty.

BACK

ANSWER 17:

Unfortunately, a penalty of two strokes in stroke play and loss of hole in match play is incurred. The player would have substituted a ball when not permitted to do so (as with a lost ball or ball hit out of bounds). According to Rule 15-2, the second ball would become the ball in play and the penalty ascribed by the applicable rule would be incurred.

BACK

ANSWER 18:

Fuzzy appears to have acted within Rule 16-2, which states, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay, and an additional ten seconds to determine if the ball is at rest. He did not unreasonably delay play in approaching the ball and he apparently waited less than 10 seconds after arriving at the hole. His birdie should stand.

BACK

ANSWER 19:

According to Rule 17-3, the player's ball must not strike the flagstick when it is being attended, removed or held up, the person attending the flagstick, or the unattended flagstick when a putt has been made on the green.

There is an exception.
When the flagstick is attended without the player's authority, the player attending the flagstick incurs the penalty under Rule 17-2, which is loss of the hole in match play and two strokes in stroke play.

BACK

ANSWER 20:

The definition to "abnormal ground condition" is rather narrow. It is limited to casual water, ground under repair or hole, cast or runway on the course made by a burrowing animal, reptile or bird. A "burrowing animal" is defined in the Rules as an animal that makes a hole for habitation or shelter, such as a rabbit, mole, groundhog, gopher or salamander. Since none of those animals would likely have made such a hole, he is not entitled to free relief.

BACK

ANSWER 21:

According to the Rules definition of "moved," if the ball leaves it's original position and comes to rest in another place, it is deemed to have moved. In John's case it did not move and so he did not incur a penalty for the inadvertent strike of the ball.

BACK

ANSWER 22:

Under Rule 18-4 there is no penalty for a fellow competitor moving another competitor's ball. Jim should replace his ball where it lay before Tom picked it up.

BACK

ANSWER 23:

According to Rule 19-1, if a ball in motion comes to rest on a moving object, the player must, without penalty, drop the ball as near as possible to the spot where the outside agency was when the ball came to rest on it.

BACK

ANSWER 24:

Under Rule 20-3d, if Charlie cannot get to his ball to stay at the place where the Rules require him to place it (in this case on the steep greenside hill) he must place it at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole and not in a hazard.

BACK

ANSWER 25:

The group decided to search for the ball for the allotted five minutes and resume play. In doing so, although the Rules allow five minutes for searching, they violated etiquette. As soon as it was apparent the ball would not be easily located, rules of etiquette dictate they should have signalled for the group behind them to play through. After doing so, the should have resumed play after the group had passed and were out of reach.

BACK

ANSWER 26:

According to Rule 4-3(a)(ii), a club damaged in the normal course of play, as in Susan's case, can be repaired during the round providing there is no undue delay in play. Susan could also have opted to replace her six-iron with any club, as it was obviously unfit for play. So, Susan acted within the Rules.

BACK

----------------------------------

In memory of David Perrin 1947 - 2013, designer of the original HHDUGC website

spinner

The HHDUGC is sponsored by

 

B M Howarth

Berties Catering

Best Impressions

Mr. Bruce Firth

Circle Golf Insurance

Expressions Kitchens Ltd

Glenbrae Knitwear

Mr. Harry Haworth

Holiday Inn

Kelcol Bedding

MajorGolfDirect

Selbie Opticians

Stromberg Menswear

The Lodge @ Birkby Hall

T W Birks & Son Ltd

Tom Wild Golf Store

 

Click links above for further details of our sponsors

 

Further sponsorship invited - click here